To prevent the needless storage of personal data, SRAM performs periodic automated cleanup of inactive users, orphaned user profiles, and inactive collaborations. The timings and notifications related to those cleanup activities are specified below.
This is distinct from the expiration of collaborations and collaboration memberships.
Inactive Users
According to the SRAM privacy policy:
If we don't see activity on our platform for a user profile within the last 12 months, we will send out an email to the user whether the user wants us to delete the central user profile. If the user does not reply within 3 months nor does the user sign in to our application within those 3 months, SURF will delete the user profile.
Activity in this context includes the user logging into the SRAM platform itself, or the user logging into to any web-based SRAM application.
Users can therefore easily prevent or revert suspension by simply logging into SRAM or a web-based SRAM application.
| Days without any user activity | Action | Status |
|---|---|---|
| 351 days | User warned via email | User will soon be suspended for inactivity |
| 365 days | User notified via email | User is suspended for inactivity |
| 448 days | User warned via email | User will soon be deleted for inactivity |
| 455 days | User notified via email | User is deleted for inactivity |
Orphaned Users
To prevent needless storage of personal data, a user profile that has not been used at all within 14 days of profile creation is considered orphaned and deleted.
Inactive collaborations
According to the SRAM privacy policy:
If we don't see any activity in relation to a collaboration for 12 months, SURF will send out an email to the collaboration-admin and/or the Organisation contact person whether they want us to delete the collaboration. If we don't get a reply within 3 months nor do we see any activity regarding the collaboration within those 3 months, SURF will delete the collaboration.
Activity in this context includes changes to collaboration members or settings, or any collaboration member logging into a connected web-based SRAM application.
Collaboration members can prevent collaboration suspension by logging into a web-based SRAM application which is connected to the given collaboration. Collaboration administrators can prevent collaboration suspension by logging into SRAM and clicking a button.
| Days without any collaboration activity | Action | Status |
|---|---|---|
| 355 days | Administrator(s) warned via email | Collaboration will soon be suspended for inactivity. |
| 365 days | Administrator(s) notified via email | Collaboration is suspended for inactivity. |
| 455 days | Administrator(s) notified via email | Collaboration is deleted for inactivity. |