Workspace does not equal Virtual Machine

If you have some experience with other compute clouds, you may think that the basic building block needs to be a Virtual Machine (VM). This is not true for the Research Cloud.

The Research Cloud uses a "workspace" that you configure to hold your compute and data needs. The workspace application can be just a VM with an OS, but it can also be something more complex like e.g. a Jupyter notebook or an RStudio server.

This page guides you through starting a workspace with an Ubuntu VM, as an example of a simple application.


Please note now already, that by default any workspace is volatile. If the workspace ceases to exist, all its data ceases to exist, too.

Please make sure that you put on external storage, anything that is supposed to outlive the workspace!

Create a Workspace with an Ubuntu VM

Make sure you have a budget assigned to your account before you continue. If not follow the instructions here : Get a budget for Research Cloud.

When you successfully login to the Research Cloud website you will see the Dashboard.

To create your first workspace, click on the "CREATE NEW" button on the leftmost quick action tile:

This will start the workspace creation wizard which takes you through the following steps:

1. Select an application

Browse through the different application tiles that are displayed. You can use the search function to find what you need.

probably a "plain" Ubuntu workspace will do, for now:

Click "CHOOSE" and continue to the next step.

2. Choose the collaboration

The collaborations get displayed through for which you can use the application that you just chose.

Select one of them and continue.

3. Dataset

If the chosen collaboration gives you access to any predefined datasets, you can choose them here.

4. Wallets, cloud provider, operating-system and size

In this step your wallets and the possible cloud providers for the chosen application are displayed.

Choose your wallet, the cloud provider, the operating system and the workspace's size.

"Operating System" is typically Windows or one or more Linux distros and versions.

If you want to know how much a particular size will draw from your budget, you can extend the display-tile of the flavour and check the "credits/day" entry.

5. Options (storage, ip-address, network)

If you have created any storage volumes, reserved ip-addresses or private networks, earlier, you can attach them to the new workspace, here.

This is the only moment when you can attach these. You will not be able to add storage or network-related items to a workspace that is already running.

If you do not have or need any of these, just continue without selection.

6. Name (and date of expiry)

In this last step, you can choose how long you want the workspace to be running.

The expiry date is the only thing that you can change later on, while the workspace is running.

The workspace will be deleted when the selected expiry date has arrived. (You will get an e-mail three days before this happens.)

Also type in a "friendly" name for your reference (and your colleagues reference), and a hostname.

The hostname will be part of the workspace's url once it is running.

A description is very useful, too. Especially if you and your colleagues run more than one workspace.

You can finish and submit the workspace wizard when you have checked the boxes that ask for your consent to our terms and conditions.

You will be redirected to the Dashboard. In the section 'Your Workspaces' you see the name of the Workspace that you have created. The status will change form creating to running when the Workspace is ready to be used.

"Lifeline"

Once your workspace is in the state "running", the green "lifeline" of the workspace is displayed:

It symbolizes how much of the scheduled running time has expired. When the scheduled deletion date approaches, this line will be shown in red.

Use your Workspace

Now that your workspace with Ubuntu is running, you probably want to log in and use it. This is described in the next page: Log in to your workspace.

Do not forget to delete your workspace after you are done, see the next section.

Delete your Workspace

Once you have a workspace created you should be able to see it in you Dashboard under the section "Your Workspaces". You can click on the down arrow () to see more details.

If you want to delete that workspace you can click on the  button to delete this workspace.

Confirm the removal of the workspace by clicking on the DELETE button again.

It will take a couple of seconds to delete the workspace. The status will be changed from deleting to deleted. Once the workspace is deleted you are able to see the deleted workspaces by enabling the option 'Show deleted workspaces'

If you had a persistent storage volume attached to the workspace, this volume will be available again to be attached to another workspace.